← Back to Contestants Page

Martin Leung

Known as the Video Game Pianist, Martin Leung is one of the first musicians of the ’net generation to adapt game music to performance.

He won global acclaim at 17 in 2004 with what the New York Times described as his “signature blindfolded performance” of the Super Mario Bros. theme and a spirited Mario medley. His homemade video, filmed in one take and uploaded to the pre-YouTube web 1.0, attracted about 40 million views.

As a classical pianist, Leung has soloed with symphonies across North America.

Leung studied with Myong-joo Lee and Ory Shihor. He graduated from the Cleveland Institute of Music, where he studied with Paul Schenly and Daniel Shapiro. He graduated with a master’s degree in music from Yale as a student of Claude Frank. He is studying with Stewart Gordon for a doctorate degree at the University of Southern California.


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 903

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 31 In A-flat Major, Op. 110
I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo
II. Allegro molto
III. Adagio ma non troppo. Fuga. Allegro ma non troppo

Franz Liszt (1811-1886) Transcendental Etude No. 10 in F Minor, S. 139/10
Venezia e Napoli, S. 162
I. Gondoliera
II. Canzone
III. Tarantella

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943) Prelude Op. 3 No. 2 in C-sharp Minor
Preludes Op. 23, Nos. 2, 4 and 5

Nikolai Kapustin (b. 1937) Preludes in Jazz Style, Op. 53, Nos. 1, 2, 5 and 18

Lowell Liebermann (b. 1961) Gargoyles, Op. 29
I. Presto
II. Adagio semplice, ma con molto rubato
III. Allegro moderato
IV. Presto feroce

Franz Schubert (1797–1828) Sonata in C Minor, D. 958
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Minuetto. Allegro – Trio
IV. Allegro

Franz Liszt (1811-1886) Sonata in B Minor, S. 178

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) Piano Trio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 49
I. Molto allegro ed agitato
II. Andante con moto tranquillo
III. Scherzo. Leggiero e vivace
IV. Finale. Allegro assai appassionato

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943) Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43