← Back to Contestants Page

Michael Davidov

Michael Davidov was born in a family of professional musicians and showed a very particular understanding of the musical ideas since the earliest childhood.

He entered the Barcelona Conservatory (Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya) in the class of the world’s renowned Catalan pianist Prof. Ramon Coll being just 16 years old.
He finished his studies obtaining a total amount of nine honors and was given the University Director’s personal recommendation. His constant will of refining his knowledge and his artistic development, pulled him to study at European most prestigious music centers with world famous professors such as the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory (Postgraduate) under Prof. Mikhail Petukhov, the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt in Weimar, Germany, under Prof. Grigory Gruzman (Concert Diploma) and the Mozarteum University in Salzburg, Austria (Master degree and Postgraduate) under Prof. Pavel Gililov.

Michael Davidov performed as soloist with the Slovak Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia, the Symphony Orchestra of Rostov, the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica Ciudad de Granada, the Orquestra J. Strauss of Roma, under the conductors Enrique García Asensio, Paul Mann, Salvador Mas, Valery Khlebnikov, Dariusz Mikulski, Rastislav Stur, David Albet, Nicola Samale, Haris Iliadis, to name a few.

Davidov is a prizewinner of many international piano competitions: he won the 1st Prize at the International Piano Competition Delia Steinberg in Madrid, the 1st Prize and the Audience Prize at the International Piano Competition A. Skavronsky–Inspiration in Volgodonsk, the 1st Prize at the Concorso Pianistico Internazionale G. Pecar in Gorizia, the 2nd Prize at the Concorso Pianistico Internazionale F. Chopin in Roma, the 2nd Prize at the International Piano Competition G. Thymis in Thessaloniki, the 2nd Prize at the Concorso Internazionale di Pianoforte M. P. Monopoli in Barletta, the 2nd Prize and the Audience Prize at the Concorso Pianistico Internazionale Città di Massarosa, the 3rd Prize at the International Piano Competition J. N. Hummel in Bratislava, the 3rd Prize at the International Piano Competition Cidade de Ferrol, the 3rd Prize and the Prize for the best performance of Contemporary Music at the International Piano Competition in Jaén and four special prizes at the International Maria Canals Music Competition in Barcelona.

His wide artistic activity made him win other prizes and scholarships. He won four consecutive times the Catalonian’s State Council Scholarship for the Culture and the Arts (2008-12), the Prize of the Foundation R. Parramon (2009), a Medal given by the Town hall of Palau Solità i Plegamans (Barcelona, 2011) and two scholarships given by the Association of Interpreters and Performers of Spain (2013 and 2014). In 2016 he was awarded the Arthur Rubinstein Prize by the Association “Friends of the Music” of Marbella (Spain).

Besides his concert career, Davidov is also a pedagogue and a composer. In 2010, Michael Davidov became Germany’s youngest piano dozent, after winning an Associate Professor position at the Hochschule für Musik F. Liszt in Weimar. During the academic year 2011-2012 M. Davidov headed the piano class at the University of Augsburg in Germany. Michael Davidov has been invited as a juror at international piano competitions and has headed piano masterclasses in different countries. In 2013 Michael Davidov has founded the Arthur Rubinstein Institute in Marbella and became its Artistic Director. Nowadays, M. Davidov is professor for piano at the Conservatori Superior del Liceu in Barcelona.


Johann Sebastian Bach 1685–1750) Partita No. 6 in E Minor, BWV 830
I. Toccata
II. Allemande
III. Corrente
IV. Air
V. Sarabande
VI. Tempo di Gavotta
VII Gigue

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) Gaspard de la nuit
I. Ondine
II. Gibet
III. Scarbo

Enrique Granados (1867-1916) Quejas o la Maja y el Ruisenor, Goyescas No. 4

Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983) Sonata No. 1, Op. 22
I. Allegro marcato
II. Presto misterioso
III. Adagio molto appassionato
IV. Ruvido ed ostinato

Franz Schubert (1797–1828) Sonata in B-flat Major, D. 960
I. Molto moderato
II. Andante sostenuto
III. Scherzo. Allegro vivace con delicatezza – Trio
IV. Allegro ma non troppo – Presto

Claude Debussy (1862-1918) Prelude No. 7, Book II, La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune

Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953) Sonata No. 7 in B-flat, Op. 83
I. Allegro inquieto
II. Andante caloroso
III. Precipitato

Anton Arensky (1861-1906) Piano Trio in D Minor, Op. 32
I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo. Allegro molto
III. Elegia. Adagio
IV. Finale. Allegro non troppo

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) Piano concerto No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 16
I. Andantino – Allegretto
II. Scherzo: Vivace
III. Intermezzo: Allegro moderato
IV. Finale: Allegro tempestoso