← Back to Contestants Page

Misha Galant

Born to a family of musicians, Misha Galant began piano lessons at the age of six and continued for fourteen years with his mother, Olya Katsman. Currently Misha is a sophomore in the Columbia University and Juilliard School Exchange. He studies with Dr. Matti Raekallio at the Juilliard School and with Dr. Yu-Jane Yang at Weber State University in Utah.

Misha’s accomplishments include first prizes in the Marylin Mindell Piano Competition, the Ross Mckee Piano Competition, the Pacific Musical Society competition, the San Jose International Piano Competition, and the Henry & Carol Zeiter piano competition at UOP, along with numerous other local competitions. He was the state winner in the 2010 MTAC concerto competition and again in 2015, when he was inducted into the selective Young Artist Guild.

Misha has performed with the Rochester, Utah, Oakland, Peninsula, Livermore, Santa Rosa Youth, and California Youth symphony orchestras. Misha is one of ten students nationwide to receive the Chopin Scholarship from the Chopin Foundation and was a prizewinner at the first inaugural Van Cliburn Junior Competition and at the Eastman Piano Competition.

Misha is indebted to Sharon Mann and Yoshikazu Nagai of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music for their invaluable and inspirational coaching.
In his spare time, Misha enjoys playing chamber music, swimming, reading, hiking, eating, and performing to raise funds for various volunteer organizations.


Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Sonata in C Major, Hob: XVI: 50
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro molto

César Franck (1822-1890) Prelude, Choral et Fugue

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) Toccata in C Minor, BWV 911

Modest Musorgsky (1839-1881) Pictures at an Exhibition
I. Promenade
II. Gnomus
III. Promenade. Moderato commodo assai e con delicatezza
IV. Il Vecchio castello
V. Promenade. Moderato non tanto, pesamente
VI. Tuileries (Dispute d’enfants après jeux)
VII. Bydlo
VIII. Promenade. Tranquillo
IX. Ballet of unhatched chicks
X. “Samuel” Goldenberg und “Schmuÿle”
XI. Promenade
XII. Limoges, le marché (La grande nouvelle)
XIII. Catacombæ (Sepulcrum romanum)
XIV. Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
XV. Baba-Yaga
XVI. The Great Gate of Kiev

Franz Schubert (1797–1828) Sonata in C minor, D. 958
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Minuetto. Allegro – Trio
IV. Allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Fifteen Variations and Fugue, Op. 35

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943) Moments Musicaux, Op. 16 No. 3 in B Minor
Moment Musicaux, Op. 16 No. 4 in E Minor

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) Piano Trio No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 49
I. Molto allegro ed agitato
II. Andante con moto tranquillo
III. Scherzo. Leggiero e vivace
IV. Finale. Allegro assai appassionato

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943) Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, Op. 30
I. Allegro ma non tanto
II. Intermezzo: Adagio
III. Finale: Alla breve